July 2001

A regular meeting of the Board of The Lake Wynonah Municipal Authority was held on July 17, 2001 at the Wayne Township Municipal Building, Wayne Township, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania.

Board members present at the meeting were Jim Ridderhoff, Walter Jaros, Tom Nagle, and Dennis Scharadin. Also in attendance were Jim Goodman (LWMA Attorney), Dave Bright (LWMA Engineer) and Mike Stewart (AmericanAnglian), Tom Zenker (South Manheim Township Supervisor, and the following property owners: Bill & Connie Kuehler.

The meeting was called to order by Jim Ridderhoff at 6:01 p.m.

The minutes for the prior meeting were reviewed and accepted by motion of Walter Jaros, seconded by Dennis Scharadin, carried by all.

The Treasurer's reports for May and June 2001 were reviewed and accepted by motion of Tom Nagle, seconded by Walter Jaros, carried by all.

Mike Stewart reviewed his written report relating to managerial matters (submitted to the Board prior to the meeting) which addressed water and sewage operations. The written report is attached to the office copy of these minutes. He also told the Board that the white Mack pump truck repairs were finished and that the majority of the bill was for parts, not labor. Jim asked Mike how long the pump hoses on the pump trucks last and Mike told him about 5 years.

The subject of mowing at the plant and wells was discussed (the riding mower cannot be repaired). The Board looked at a few solutions including making arrangements with the LWPOA to mow the wells in exchange for pumpings at no charge, contracting the mowing out, and purchasing another mower. Mike also said that he knew of a riding mower for sale for $500. The Board decided that Mike should check to see if the mower is still available for mowing at the plant by LWMA personnel, and to talk to Carol at the LWPOA to see if an agreement could be made for mowing at the wells.

Dave Bright told the Board that he had nothing to report this month.

Jim Goodman told the Board that he had nothing to report this month and that he is still waiting for Judge Stine's decision in the Rumrill case.

The Board addressed a memorandum addition to the Sewage Management Program that was developed by Tom Nagle which better clarifies and explains those sections concerning access to properties for sewage pumping. More specifically, the memorandum clarifies certain areas of the LWMA's Sewage Management Program dealing with access to properties for the purpose of pumping Holding and Septic tanks, and adds a new section relating to distance and elevation requirements for pumping including additional fees. Upon motion by Tom Nagle, seconded by Dennis Scharadin, and carried by all, the Board adopted and incorporated the memorandum into the LWMA's Sewage Management Program; a copy of the Memorandum is attached to the office copy of these minutes. Copies of the memorandum will be distributed to property owners, township SEOs and the LWPOA.

The Board recognized a letter from a property owner asking about billing for water based on usage only. The Board asked Jen to respond stating that the request was not something that could not be instituted at the present time.

Upon motion by Tom Nagle, seconded by Walter Jaros, carried 3 to 1, the Board adopted a non-smoking policy for the LWMA Business Office. Dennis Scharadin voted against because he felt that it should be a voluntary decision. The policy was adopted because of various complaints made by property owners who had stopped by the office and were bothered by the secondhand smoke.

Bill Kuehler questioned the Board about his water overage which he felt he would not have occurred if meter readings had not been taken 10 days later than usual. The Board explained that a series of emergencies affecting the water supply had to be addressed before personnel were free to take the meter readings.

There being no further business, Walter Jaros motioned for adjournment, Tom Nagle seconded the motion, carried by all.

The meeting was adjourned by Jim Ridderhoff at 7:03 p.m.

Meeting minutes were taken, prepared and submitted by Jennifer Hoy.

Home  |  Email  |  Meeting Minutes   

2010 Plum Creek Municipal Authority